44 consonants, a large number of vowels

I have finally started to learn Thai formally, including how to read and write. I’m beginning to think I might be crazy… it’s really quite different to English I’m fully realising now… but I can’t resist a good challenge.

This is just the consonants...

In written Thai, there is pretty much no punctuation, or many spaces, or capital letters… and vowels are either above, below, to the left or to the right. With regards to grammar, there are also no auxiliary verbs or articles, etc etc… Thai is also a tonal language, 5 tones – so suuay means both beautiful and unlucky, with only a rising tone to set them apart.

It’s basically just really quite different!

It’s starting to give me a fantastic insight into why Thai people make the mistakes they do when speaking English however, it’s great to be on the other side of the learning process.

This book is also invaluable as a resource for mistakes in English – Learner English, Swan & Smith

I’m learning at Language Express, and love it! Even though I am pretty awful… I always have been a slow learner initially, but I am putting in extra effort at home, with my Doraemon writing book…

Helpfully all the letters are related to an object that they sort of look like. I love the way that Thai writing looks, I wonder how long it will take me to be able to properly write… hmm.

Wish me luck with my studies!

Leave a Reply

