Parental units

With matching sun hats (bless ’em), my Mum and Dad came to visit me in Bangkok. I realised how much I have missed them – their humour and their warmth, and it was great to show them around what is currently my city. It’s so busy here compared to my home town… and hot… but my parents loved the temples and food.. so I think it was a success!

We went to the Chao Praya river, and took a river boat to Wat Pho, Wat Arun, beautiful temples that though I’ve seen before, they never cease to take good photos, and are beautiful even in the 37 degree heat and muted sky..

Wat Arun is soooo steep, I climbed up it once, and sincerely regretted it as the steps were so narrow and close together, I clung on for my life as I climbed back down again.  Apparently the steepness is to symbolise the difficulty in life of attaining closeness to the Gods – it was built under Khymer and Hindu influences.

It’s adorned with mythical creatures and beings, and encrusted with beautiful-ness.

My Dad is not usually fond of heights at all, but managed to climb up the first set of stairs!

We had a lovely day!

2 thoughts on “Parental units

Leave a Reply

